MiddlE

Im smaller than my little brother, bigger than my sis
Im always in the middle, but I’m pretty hard to miss.
I wear my brother’s baseball cap to add an inch or two
and then I grab five pairs of socks and stuff them in my shoes.
I gulp down all the milk I see, I eat up all my greens,
but somehow I still feel as little as a lima-bean.

Today I hooped a hula ’til my hips were hot as fire
and when I said I broke my record, Sis called me a liar!
Sometimes I feel like bubble gum that’s stuck beneath the chair
sometimes I feel so angry, even SNARLS grow in my hair!
But then my friend (a middle too) comes over here to play
and she tells me the middle is the best in every way:

A sandwich with no peanut butter’s just some plain old bread
and people would look silly if they just had feet and heads.
A house wouldn’t be helpful if the roof were on the ground,
and ‘go’s the most important after merry, before round. 

We’re the stuffing, we’re the filling, we’re the trunk that holds the tree
and even though I’m little, there’s no MiddlE without ME

One thought on “MiddlE

Leave a comment